Cultural Playing Field


The final NCVO Executive Committee meeting by Robin Simpson
November 6, 2008, 10:25 pm
Filed under: meetings | Tags: , , , , ,

On Wednesday afternoon I was at NCVO for the final meeting of the NCVO Executive Committee. Following a major governance review, the existing Board and Executive Committee will be replaced, at the forthcoming AGM, by a smaller, new Board. I was very disappointed to learn, this week, that I had been unsuccessful in my attempt to be elected to the new NCVO Board. Trying to be as magnanimous in defeat as John McCain, I offer the new Board my goodwill (“I don’t know what more we could have done to try to win this election”) and I now have some welcome gaps in my 2009 diary but I will miss being involved in the governance of NCVO. My time on the Board and Executive Committee has been incredibly interesting, challenging and rewarding and has taught me a lot about the role of the Trustee. At Wednesday’s meeting we heard about the Government’s decision to establish a third sector workforce development council. In the midst of the current financial crisis, we reviewed the management of NCVO’s own investments. Finally, we discussed the plans for the forthcoming ‘Recession Summit’ which will be jointly chaired by the new Minister for the Third Sector, Kevin Brennan, and NCVO Chief Executive, Stuart Etherington. The summit will look at what is happening to the third sector as a result of the financial downturn, what the sector should be doing about it and what the government needs to do. The recommendations of the summit will be fed back directly to the Office of the Third Sector and the Treasury.

Robin Simpson.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Dear Robin, it’s great to see passionate people, like you who care about the work in the community and voluntary sector. It is a challenging to keep people engaged and I just want to say thanks for caring.
Someone who worked in the voluntary and community sector for almost 5 years.

Comment by S

Thanks very much Stephanie – nice of you to say so.

Comment by Robin Simpson




Leave a Reply

